Posted by: juliegriffey | March 6, 2011

Contact Lenses that Reshape Your Eyes?

I am NOT a fan of sleeping in my contacts.  Only on very rare occasions do I do it – but I may have reason to change my habits.

Sleeping in your contacts can eliminate nearsightedness!  Yes… you read right.  You can sleep your way to better vision.  The process is called Orthokeratology, and it works by lenses reshaping your corneas which in turn reverses nearsightedness.  Depending on how poor your vision is – the process can take as little as a few weeks.

According the the references we found on-line – the cost is comparable to and possibly less expensive than lasik surgery.  Ummm…. sign me up??? What are the downsides?

This week I’ll be asking my ophthalmologist father-in-law (Dr. Tom) and brother-in-law (Dr. Paul) about this process and sharing more information.

http://abclocal.go.com/wjrt/story?section=news/health&id=6997258

http://www.allaboutvision.com/contacts/orthok.htm

http://www.lensshopper.com/contact-lens-faq/orthokeratology.asp

Leave a Reply

Categories

