Posted by: juliegriffey | June 17, 2012

Is it Time to Retire the Daddy Glasses?

This is not actually my dad… just some older man with  really ugly frames merely placed in this blog post to illustrate my point.

In honor of Father’s Day, I thought “what could I write that relates Father’s Day to glasses,” and I was reminded of an incident that occurred to my father a few years ago.

My dad wears glasses as I am sure many of yours do as well. A few years ago when dining somewhere in Europe, a couple approached my parent’s table to ask them what part of the U.S. they were from. My dad’s first question was “how did you know we we Americans?”  The visitor’s response: “the size of your glasses.”

Apparently Americans aren’t as fashion forward as Europeans and my dad’s oversized 1980s glasses that  he was still sporting in the early 2000s was a dead giveaway to his nationality.  So upon returning from their vacation, my father promptly got new frames.  His new wire-rimmed, smaller and more modern frames were a huge improvement, he could have almost passed for Italian… if you were able to look past the big white sneakers, but that is another story.

We can probably all identify the large plastic colored frames as being “very 80s.”  But how do you describe a 90s style frame?  I did a little visual research and the images I found reminded me of my husband’s look in the late 1990s when we first met. Fortunately he has upgraded since.

So, if you’re a little behind on a Father’s Day gift, perhaps it’s time to help your dad upgrade his look. Take him to his ophthalmologist or optometrist and get him some 2012 frames.

Leave a Reply

Categories

