Posted by: juliegriffey | October 11, 2013

Don’t make my brown eyes blue… because I want to play some racquetball!

What does your eye color say about your vision?

What does your eye color say about your vision?

I am the mother of three kids with three different eye colors: one green/hazel, one blue and one brown.  Of course I think they all have beautiful eyes – but looking at them I wonder what eye color really means and whether people with a certain eye color tend to have better vision than people with other eye colors.

Guess what?  I am not the only person who has asked this question.   According to a 2009 New York Times article, there is evidence to support that there is a difference in vision quality based on eye color.  People with darker eye colors (brown, black) “perform better with reactive type tasks,” like hitting a a baseball or playing racquet sports.  Maybe this explains why my light-eyed sister stinks at tennis.  On the other hand, people with light colored eyes  are better at “self-paced” tasks like hitting a golf ball.  (Lucky for me, I have brown eyes and NO interest in golf…)

More good news for us brown-eyed folks… According to an article in the publication Perception, “people with darker eyes may have better vision in high-glare situations.” This could make us better night drivers.

This same source surmises that blue-eyed people might make better painters.  This is because brown eyed people are not as good at perceiving different colors.   And now I understand why I can’t tell the difference between blue and black.

All of these articles do stress that the differences are subtle, but interesting nonetheless.  I mean – think about it.  David Freese has amazing blue eyes and he can still hit the heck out of a baseball…. Go Cardinals!

http://eccentricscientist.wordpress.com/2007/03/02/do-brown-eyes-see-better-than-blue/

Responses

  1. Oddly many of the NHL goalies have light colored eyes….and I am pretty sure they are dealing with reactive type tasks and high glare situations. So I have always wondered the same thing…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

