Posted by: juliegriffey | August 25, 2014

Top five ways your glasses got broken and how to get them fixed

dog chewing glassesIn honor of Amcon’s new frame repair service, I decided to do a little research on how people’s glasses tend to get broken. Even though I would love to see people take advantage of Amcon’s new frame repair service, maybe we could all learn something from other people’s mistakes and keep our frames from getting broken in the first place.

With that in mind… here are the top five ways people tend to break their glasses.

1) They fall asleep with their glasses on.  Many people (myself included) wear their glasses to read at night then fall asleep with their glasses on.  And the next thing you know, they are rolling around on top of them in the middle of the night.  Don’t think this could happen to you?  Take some Ambien before bed and then talk to me.  Trust me – I could fall asleep with food in my mouth after taking some Ambien.  Take your glasses off before you start to feel really sleepy.

2) Their kids or dogs destroy them.   Fortunately for me, this is not an issue.  No dog, and kids are old enough not to be using my glasses as a chew toy.  Put your glasses up and out of reach from these creatures.

3) They sit on them.  It’s easy to leave glasses on a chair, a bed or other surface that may come in contact with your behind.  Suggestion?  See #2 above.   Put them away or purchase a protective eyeglass case.

4) They break them playing sports.  Save your glasses for non-contact sports, and wear some contacts instead.  Sport glasses are now available that can be customized with your prescription.  I am sure many of our customers retail these Rx sport goggles in their office.  (Spoiler alert!  Amcon has been looking to bring in a line for the 2015 catalog).

5) They run into something.  This can happen, people.  Look up from your cell phone once in a while while you are walking down the street.  We can all get absorbed in a funny text exchange, but then BAM – next thing you know – your face has encountered a light post and your glasses are a wreck.

I hope this ounce of prevention will save a few pairs of glasses this week – but for the ones that need to get fixed – don’t forget about Amcon’s frame repair service.

 

Responses

  1. I’ve worn glasses since elementary school and every time a temple piece got broken when I was a kid, it was because my sister and I had gotten into a fight. She liked to slap me across the face. (Obviously, she had no reservations about hitting someone with glasses. We both did.) Now that we are grown up, my glasses have not been broken in years! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

