Posted by: juliegriffey | November 3, 2014

Creating a Kid-Friendly Environment in Your Optical Office

Kids optical supplies

What do you have for me?

What kid likes to get their hair cut or go to the doctor’s office?  Mine do! You know why?  The goodies.  It’s amazing.  The 5 cent toy from the toy chest gets my son begging to get a haircut every time he spots a Great Clips.  It’s actually so ridiculous that it makes me think that I must be depriving the poor child.

But I digress.  My point is that when you create a kid-friendly practice – kids notice.  And while it may not be a big deal to you, it is for the kids.  A few choice Amcon items can help make a visit to your office a bit more enjoyable for your younger visitors and might even make them want to come back.

1) A booster seat.   While a booster has utilitarian purposes allowing you to complete an exam on someone who is vertically challenged – it also sends a message to the parent that you care about younger patients.  Plus – what kid doesn’t like to climb up in a tall chair?

2) Stickers. Please tell me why kids love stickers?  Personally, from the moment a sticker enters the hand of one of my kids I break out in a cold sweat.  I just worry about what piece of furniture, part of my car or area of my clothing the sticker would end up sticking to.  I think stickers are nasty and disgusting, but my kids love them and even ask for them after their exam.

3) Coloring books and crayons.  This is a secret weapon. You give a kid a few crayons and a coloring book and they are much more patient waiting their turn.   Restaurants have known this trick for years.  Now you can use it too.

4) A toy to make them laugh.  An eye exam can be fun when you integrate a silly distraction like our Singing Pirate Bear.   Yes – a singing pirate bear… if all else fails – this will definitely make it a visit to the eye doctor they can’t forget.

Leave a Reply

Categories

